Print Page
Education
Share |

Continuing Education:

All classes comply with the Mississippi Code 83-39-3 (7)(8). Everyone that holds a Professional, Bail Soliciting and/or Bail Enforcement license must have 8 hours of continuing education each year.
 
Class Schedules ...please check the EVENTS page for this years class schedules..
 

If you are unable to attend the class you registered for, there will be a $50 transfer fee, and you will only be able to transfer based on seating availability. Transferring must be done prior to your continuing education class date.

Bail Agents that do not show up for their registered class will forfeit their payment and will need to register for a later class at their own expenses.

There will be an additional EMERGENCY/MAKEUP class that will be added to our website. No transfers are allowed for this class. You must pay full price online at the class rate.
Emergency classes will only be held if the class number exceeds 12 students.
 
Pre-License Education:
 
In order to be granted a license, an applicant must prove that the applicant:
(1) Is an individual – not a business entity.
(2) Is at least 21 years old.
(3) Has not ever been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude.
(4) Has met all educational requirements and, passed the state exam and has worked as soliciting agent for a minimum of three years.
 
Pre-License Education is required in order to apply for a bail agent license in Mississippi. The MBAA offers a 40-hour Bail Agent Pre-Licensing class for the following: new agents, those switching license types, or those whose licenses have been expired for more than one year. Note: For those switching license types, you are not required to take the Pre-License course if you completed the course within the last 24 months.
 
This course satisfies section 83-39-3 of the Code of Mississippi which requires submission of proof of completion of 40 hours of Pre-Licensing education for those seeking to be licensed as a professional bail agent, soliciting bail agent or bail enforcement agent.
 
The class meets for four (4) days from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm. You must be present the entire 40 hours to receive a completion certificate. Lunch is not included in the class registration fees.

 

Per Statue 83-39-3 (7) (a) effective July 1, 2013, All applicants for a soliciting bail agent or bail enforcement agent licenses applying for such license after July 1, 2013, shall successfully complete a limited examination by the department of insurance for the restricted lines of business.  As a courtesy to the agents, the DOI testing sites and dates are listed on the front page of the MBAA website. 

 

Pre-License Education classes can be found under the EVENTS tab. 

 Pre-registration fee is $1,350.00 and must be paid online with a credit or debit card. Deadline for pre-registration is listed with each course. Registration after the deadline is $1,450.00. Registrations that are canceled within 7 day of class are subject to a $200 cancelation fee.

 
Each participant will receive a Bail in Mississippi Manual. At the end of the course, each participant will receive a Certificates of Attendance.  An official photo ID is required to attend the class and receive the Certificate of Attendance.
 

General Assembly Conference Attendance:

If you attend all three General Assembly Conferences each License year (October, January and July), or two General Assembly Conference and two board meetings, or one PBUS meeting, are a voting member of the Association and pay a yearly registration fee of $50.00 General Assembly attendance will count as your continuing education for that year.
 
For example: to receive eight (8) hours of continuing education in 2013, you must attend the October 2013, January and July 2014 General Assembly Conferences.  By completing all the requirements above, you will have earned your continuing education credit and will receive a certificate for the 2014 license year.
 
 
NOTE: A license year is from October 1 to September 30.  Thus the conferences are October, January, and  July. On the Continuing Education registration form it will ask for your age, date of birth, bail license number and years in business. You must fill in all this information, it is very important. You have to send in a registration form EVERY year along with your $50.00. If you do not do this then you will not receive credit.
 
For more information concerning Education Classes, please contact the MBAA office at (601) 899-8599.

 

PRE-LICENSES CLASS WILL BE HELD AT EAGLE RIDGE CONFERENCE CENTER    

 Rooms are being offered at Eagle Ridge at a rate of $85  Call 601-857-7100 to make your reservation...Tell them you are with the Bail Agents Association.

Reservations must be made in advance for the conference center to be made available on Sunday night. If no registrations the conference center will be closed until monday morning.

Click here for directions to Eagle Ridge Conference Center MAP



Mississippi Bail Agent Association 
PO BOX 959
Ridgeland, MS 39158-0959
Physical Address:
451 Northpark Drive, Suite B
Ridgeland, MS 39157
Phone: 601-899-8599
Fax:     601-899-8598
 
  
LIKE US ON FACEBOOK.. BECOME A FAN!! 
 
CLICK HERE

 

 

 

 

 


 

Community Search
Calendar

7/21/2014 » 9/30/2020
MEMBERSHIP FEE - INSURANCE COMPANY

7/21/2014 » 9/30/2020
MEMBERSHIP FEE - GENERAL AGENCY MEMBERSHIP

4/1/2017 » 3/30/2018
MEMBERSHIP FEE - INDIVIDUALS

7/12/2017 » 10/2/2017
CONTINUING ED CREDIT FEE

8/12/2017
CONTINUING ED RAYMOND AUGUST 12, 2017